top of page

THE FIRM HANDSHAKE


The hand shake, it's one thing I am surprised a lot of men do not know how to do properly. A firm handshake is important to master, especially if you are currently job hunting, since a firm hand shake gives a good first impression to any would be bosses.

People have always came up to me and told me that I seem to have a great handshake, when I was a kid they even went to my own parents to complement them that I had a great hand shake. So if this is the case, here is my secret to a great handshake!

EYE CONTACT - Always keep eye contact with the person you are shaking hands with. This tells the person you are happy to shake their hand and also that you respect them as a person.

GRIP - Always go in with a firm hand. No limp hands. I always think of it as holding a cup, you wouldn't hold a cup with a loose grip! I personally always gave a SMALL squeeze while shaking hands, just to emphasize I don't give limp hand shakes! That is a SMALL squeeze, don't crush their hand!

DURATION - I would recommend about three shakes before ending it, any less seems to soon and any more just seems...well...weird, but I usually let the other person lead for what the duration is.

SMILE - Don't forget to smile while you shake hands! Like with the eye contact, you want to let the other person know you are interested in what they have to say and you respect them.

CONCLUSION - Other all, a firm handshake is simple, a good smile, eye contact and a small little squeeze is all it takes! No go out and start shaking cups!

SOPHIE'S
COOKING TIPS

#1 

I'm a paragraph. Click here to add your own text and edit me.

 

#2

I'm a paragraph. Click here to add your own text and edit me.

 

#3

I'm a paragraph. Click here to add your own text and edit me.

bottom of page